Elk Valley Agriculture Teacher Selected for Educator Award


SALINA, Kan.- Chris Johnston, agriculture teacher at Elk Valley High School in Longton, Kansas, was named the Kansas Association of Agricultural Educators (KAAE) Kansas Association for Career and Technical Education’s New Teacher of the Year award winner at the 2020 Kansas Association of Agricultural Educators Ag Ed Symposium in Salina, Kansas on January 25th.

Jason Crawford, Superintendent of Schools for USD 283 Elk Valley, commented “Mr. Johnston brings a unique passion and commitment to our program. His leadership is demonstrated through his strong work ethic and commitment to all students he works. Lessons are always differentiated and easily applied to real world applications.”

Agriculture programs prepare students for high-demand careers in cutting edge industries like biotechnology, renewable energies, engineering, food production, and more.  They also teach students how to be leaders and prepare them to take on the challenges of the next generation.

The Kansas Association of Agricultural Educators is an organization of teachers of agriculture at the high school, postsecondary, and adult levels who seek to advance agricultural education in Kansas.  The KAAE strives to provide leadership opportunities, service, and advocacy for its members.

The KAAE is affiliated with the National Association of Agricultural Educators (NAAE) and the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE).